Bing Ads
Home » Blog » CPR Certification » The Different Types of Life Support Certifications: What Are the Differences?

The Different Types of Life Support Certifications: What Are the Differences?

image for healthcare certifications CPR Certification Online

Life support certifications can be incredibly beneficial. Whether you are a healthcare professional or a layperson, these are for everyone. Life support certifications are often a job requirement for healthcare professionals. Doctors, nurses, and paramedics need these certifications to practice in the healthcare industry. But even for laypersons, it is valuable from a personal preparedness standpoint. It is a great way to gain the necessary skills to respond in a critical situation. It teaches you how to assess, react, and respond during an emergency.

It is important to understand the different types of life support certifications. Having knowledge of these will help you provide the best care for victims. This article will discuss the different types of life support certifications. We will also help you understand the differences between them. This will help you make an informed decision about which type of certification is best for you.

If you are willing to undertake life support certifications, you may check out our website. The American HealthCare Academy provides a range of life support certifications. Sign up on the American HealthCare Academy website to check out our online courses.

Why should you get life support certifications?

Life support certifications act as a saviour in times of unforeseen situations. It is important for medical professionals to provide high-quality care to their patients. They are also important for bystanders to offer help in case of a medical emergency. These certifications prove that you have the necessary skills and knowledge. They enable you to provide life-saving treatments and interventions. They also boost your self-confidence to administer life-saving interventions.

9 life support certifications, and how are they different?

There are many life support certification courses available in the market. Each course has its own set of requirements, purpose, and scope. They also involve a different set of skills and knowledge. You must focus on the right one to gain maximum benefit.

AHCA offers the following nine life support certifications:

  1. First Aid Courses

We provide a comprehensive course on first aid. First aid courses cover basic medical knowledge and skills. These include choking, burns, poisoning, wound care, bandaging, splinting, and CPR. It also covers responding to breathing difficulties and allergy-related issues.

  1. Healthcare provider CPR

This course is for healthcare professionals. This course is more comprehensive than basic first aid courses. The course covers various advanced-level topics. These include chest compressions, airway management, and the use of an automated external defibrillator.

  1. CPR/AED Courses

This is an introductory course specifically designed for bystanders. The course teaches you how to recognise the signs of cardiac arrest. It also trains you to administer CPR and use an AED when needed. The course helps you gain the skills to provide basic life support.

  1. CPR+First Aid Combo

This certification course is a combination of two courses: CPR and first aid. It teaches how to provide basic first aid. It also teaches you how to perform life-saving interventions. It covers knowledge of recognising symptoms of cardiac arrest and performing CPR or AED.

  1. HIPAA

The course educates you on patient health information privacy and security laws. This is an essential certification for healthcare professionals. It helps to understand the legal implications of using and disclosing patient health information.

  1. Bloodborne Pathogens

This course is specially for people who may be exposed to blood. These can be tattoo artists, general workplace employees, housekeeping personnel, etc. The programme teaches you what to do if you expose yourself to dangerous pathogens.

  1. Healthcare Provider Combo

This course is for healthcare professionals. It is a combination of all the courses mentioned above. This course covers infant, child, and adult CPR and AED training. It is applicable for both in-hospital and out-of-hospital situations.

  1. ACLS Certification and Recertification

This course caters to emergency healthcare providers. ACLS certification focuses on advanced cardiovascular care and resuscitation techniques. It covers topics such as airway management, shock management, and cardiac rhythms.

  1. PALS Certification and Recertification

PALS certification focuses on the care of critically ill or injured children. It covers topics such as assessing and managing respiratory distress, shock, and cardiac arrest. It is for healthcare professionals working in the pediatric emergency room or pediatric intensive care unit.

Take life support certifications from AHCA

American HealthCare Academy offers best-in-class life support certifications and re-certifications. Our courses aim to impart life-saving skills and knowledge to everyone. We encourage young students as well as advanced professionals to take these certifications.

For more information on different types of life support certifications, please contact us.